Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo.

Spread the love

Leigh Bardugo’s The Six Crows is a duology based on the Grishaverese. Six of Crows is the first book in the Six of Crows duology, set two years after the events of Ruin and Rising (Shadow and Bone trilogy). I just finished reading both books in the series, and you guys, I’m obsessed. It’s no surprise that this series is widely popular and has won numerous awards.

The Plotline

Six of Crows is a story of a heist in a world of magic and crime. The book features six main characters, and are written in alternating points of view from the six main characters.

Kaz, Inej, and the rest of the cast are flawed, and broken, but still incredibly talented. Their stories are intriguing, so just when you think you’ve sorted them out, another layer is added to their stories. Kaz’s voice of reason Inej, his spy and trusted crew mate. I adore her personality. She is a poet who is always ready with a proverb fit for the occasion. She didn’t choose the path her life took, but she managed to make the best of it.

Nina, Jesper, Wylan, and Matthias are all equally fantastic and great characters. At the beginning you don’t think you’ll like, let alone love, some of them, but this band of misfits quickly burrows into your heart.

My Thoughts

This novel pleasantly surprised me. Six of Crows has been on my TBR for a while, and I wasn’t expecting it to be as good. Leigh Bardugo effectively spins this into the fantasy in such a way that it was impossible to criticize. She also delivers all of the fantasy elements I enjoy, such as a detailed magical worlds, a whole new universe , unattainable mission, and gut wrenching action, without foregoing the intricate maps found in the novel, which add an extra layer of thrilling fantasy.

This book’s characterisation is unquestionably one of its strongest points. Each of the main characters has distinct characteristics and a well-developed backstory that endears them to the reader. I adored the forbidden lovers arc that defined the progression of Matthais and Nina’s story. The beautiful yet seamless LGBTQ love story. And the heartbreaking yet eternal love between Kaz and Inej.

Six of crows central message is the dangers of forcing children into adult roles. From Mathias being brainwashed by the Fjerdan culture, to Kaz having to fend for himself as a child in a terrible environment, to the crew battling their personal baggage and traumas while uncovering the corrupt bureaucracy of Katterdam’s best. The youthful age of the protagonists denotes the plot’s suspense and the world of a morally corrupt.

This novel had an intense, brutal plot. It’s been a long time since I’ve utterly fallen in love with a book and its characters. I adored the book’s rawness and realism, as well as every other aspect of it.


This page contains affiliate links, and we receive an affiliate commission for any purchases made on the affiliate website through such links at no extra cost to you.

It’d be helpful to us if you made your purchases through our affiliate links. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *